Does your MAC Makeup Contain Gluten?

MAC-ingredients-gluten

Here are 3 tests to find out if your makeup is gluten free.

You’re likely wondering if your favorite makeup is gluten free or not.  You’ve searched around the web, and no one knows.

Here’s 3 simple tests that can help point you in the right direction.

1) Check the manufacturers home page.  If they are a dedicated gluten free makeup company, it will be stated right up front on their website.

2) Check the box and packaging for the specific words GLUTEN FREE.

3) Research each ingredient 1 by 1 on the internet.  There are some great guides on the web that list hundreds of known glutenous ingredients typically found in makeup.

The truth is, it can be very difficult to tell if your favorite makeup has gluten in it.  Chances are that it does.  In order to be sure that there is absolutely no gluten in a makeup item, special procedures have to take place.

It all begins with sourcing really great raw ingredients, and testing them when they arrive at the factory for the presence of gluten.  True gluten free makeup companies will send a sample of the ingredient to a lab for testing, which can be very costly.

Next is the manufacturing lines.  It’s critical that manufacturing machines not run gluten ingredients through them, keeping them separated stops cross contamination issues.

And finally comes final product testing, where the gluten free makeup company will send samples of the final product to a lab for further testing to insure gluten has not been introduced accidentally.

Storage and handling procedures matter too.  Employees who handles products for boxing, stickering, and packaging must do so in a 100% gluten free environment, and with no gluten from lunch on their hands to eliminate cross contamination of the packaging, where it can transfer to your hands.

Most mega corporations find the gluten free makeup market far too small for them to go through the extra expense, and the liability associated with the gluten free claims.

NARS, for instance, backtracked on their gluten free claims a year ago.  They were up front and honest with their customers, stating that they did not want the liability for the claims.

There are a handful of super dedicated gluten free makeup companies who truly care about the gluten free gal, and work hard to make great gluten free makeup.  Don’t be afraid to order things over the internet, most of these companies have great return policies, and are happy to let you try makeup and return it or exchange it if you don’t like it.

For 100% Certified Gluten Free Makeup, Click Here

Here is a list of the many lipstick product ingredients gluten can hide in: Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Flour, Cyclodextrin, Dextrin, Dextrin Palmitate, Ceresin, Hydrolyzed Malt Extract, Hydrolyzed Oat Flour, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein, Hydrolyzed Wheat Flour, Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein/PVP Crosspolymer, Aroma,  Hydrogenated Coco-Glycerides, Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch, Secale Cereale (Rye) Seed Flour, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Flavor (Aroma), Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Gluten, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Starch, Wheat Amino Acids, Wheat Germ Glycerides, Wheat Germamidopropalkonium Chloride, Wheat Protein, Wheatgermamidopropyl Ethyldimonium Ethosulfate, Yeast Extract, Macadamia Integrifolia Seed Oil, not all – but most Tocopherals – don’t know unless it’s specifically tested and known to be from a non-gluten source.

Leave a Reply